Exchange Recover Deleted Items

Recover deleted Exchange Online messages for up to 30 days using the "Recover Deleted Items" option. After 30 days, deleted messages are no longer recoverable and cannot be restored even by system administrators. Recovered deleted items do not count against your quota, whereas messages in the Deleted Items folder do.

Exchange Online (outlook.office.com)

Recover Deleted Messages

  1. Log into outlook.office.com with your UARK email address and password.
  2. Right-click the Deleted Items folder and click "Recover Deleted Items."
  3. Search for a deleted message and/or click the message(s) you want to recover.
  4. Click Recover. Click OK.

Purge Recovered Deleted Messages

  1. Log into outlook.office.com with your UARK username and password.
  2. Right-click the Deleted Items folder and click "Recover Deleted Items."
  3. Select the deleted message(s) to purge.
  4. Click Purge. Click OK.

Outlook 2013 and Outlook 2016 (Windows)

Recover Deleted Messages

  1. Open Outlook.
  2. Click the Folder tab and then click "Recover Deleted Items."
    Note: Items are recovered to the Deleted Items folder by default.

Purge Recovered Deleted Messages

  1. Open Outlook.
  2. Click the Folder tab and then click "Recover Deleted Items."
  3. Select the message(s) to purge and click "Purge Selected Items." Click OK.

Outlook 2011 and Outlook 2016 (Mac)

Follow the above instructions for Exchange Online to recover or purge deleted items.

Updated 01/06/2017


Was this helpful?

Yes    No