Deleting Email

The university supports UARK Gmail, Exchange, Outlook and macOS Mail (OS X Mail). Preserve quota space by deleting messages from the email server.

UARK Gmail (email.uark.edu)

Your Trash folder is automatically purged every 30 days to prevent your mailbox from exceeding the quota.

Exchange Online (outlook.office.com)

In the Office 365 Outlook Web App (OWA), deleted messages are stored in the Deleted Items folder, located in the left navigation menu. Email in the Deleted Items folder is stored on the server. Periodically empty the Deleted Items folder to avoid going over your email quota.

Empty the Deleted Items Folder

  1. Log into outlook.office.com with your UARK email address and password.
  2. Right-click the Deleted Items folder.
  3. Click Empty Folder. Click OK.

Automatically Empty the Deleted Items Folder

  1. Log into outlook.office.com with your UARK email address and password.
  2. Click the Settings gear icon. Under the header "Your app settings," click Mail.
  3. From the menu on the left, click Message options. 
  4. Check the box "Empty the Deleted Items folder when I sign out." Click Save.

Outlook 2010, Outlook 2013 and Outlook 2016 (Windows)

In Outlook, deleted messages are stored in the Deleted Items folder located in the left navigation menu. Email in the Deleted Items folder is stored on the server. Periodically empty the Deleted Items folder to avoid going over your email quota.

Deleted folders and their contents are also moved to the Deleted Items folder.

Empty the Deleted Items Folder

  1. Open Outlook.
  2. Right-click the Deleted Items folder.
  3. Click Empty Folder. Click Yes.

Automatically Empty the Deleted Items Folder

  1. Open Outlook.
  2. Click the File tab and then click Options. Click Advanced.
  3. Under "Outlook start and exit," click "Empty Deleted Items folders when exiting Outlook." Click OK.

Outlook 2011 and Outlook 2016 (Mac)

In Outlook 2011, deleted messages are stored in the Deleted Items folder, located in the left navigation menu. Email in the Deleted Items folder is stored on the server. Periodically empty the Deleted Items folder to avoid going over your email quota.

Empty the Deleted Items Folder

  • Right-click or Control-click on the Deleted Items folder, then click Empty Folder.
    or
  • Click on the Deleted Items Folder, then click the Organize tab. Click the Delete All icon.

Automatically Empty the Deleted Items Folder (Outlook 2011 Only)

  1. Open Outlook. Click Tools.
  2. Click Run Schedule and select Edit Schedules.
  3. Choose a schedule for automatically emptying the Deleted Items folder.

macOS Mail (OS X Mail)

Faculty and staff: Exchange offers limited support for macOS Mail. IT Services recommends deleting messages using the Exchange instructions.

Students: The following instructions are recommended for UARK Gmail in macOS Mail.

Permanently Delete Email

To permanently remove deleted email from the server using IMAP:

  1. Open the Mail application. From the Mail menu, select Preferences.Click Accounts.
  2. Highlight your account and click the Mailbox Behaviors tab.
  3. Uncheck "Store deleted messages on the server."
  4. Choose a preference to "Permanently erase deleted messages when" under the drop-down menu:
    • One week old
    • One month old
    • One day old
    • Quitting Mail
    • Never
  5. Close the Mail Preferences window. Click Save.

Updated 01/09/2017


Was this helpful?

Yes    No