SharePoint Online Group Access

SharePoint sites are created with three groups automatically given default permission levels. The Owners group has the Full Control permission level. The Members group has the Contribute permission level. The Visitors group has the Read permission level.

With the exception of the Owners group, all SharePoint site groups can be customized with any permission level. New groups can also be created with custom permission levels.

Users in the Owners group can add, delete or change groups and group permission levels by following the instructions below.

Create a New Group

  1. Log into your SharePoint site with your UARK username and password.
  2. Click the gear icon. Select Site Settings.
  3. Click Site Permissions
  4. Click Create Group.
  5. Enter a name and a description (optional) for the group.
  6. Enter the UARK email addressto select the owner.
  7. Under Group Settings, select who can view and edit group membership.
  8. Select settings for requests to join or leave the group. If selected, enter an email address where requests will be sent.
  9. Select a permission level. Click Create.

Change Group Permissions

  1. Log into your SharePoint site with your UARK username and password.
  2. Click the gear icon. Select Site Settings.
  3. Click Site Permissions
  4. Check the box next to the group.
  5. Click Edit User Permissions.
  6. Check the box next to a permission level. Click OK.

Add Users to a Group

  1. Log into your SharePoint site with your UARK username and password.
  2. Click the gear icon. Select Site Settings.
  3. Click Site Permissions.
  4. Click Grant Permissions.
  5. Enter the UARK email address to select and add user.
  6. Click Show Options.
  7. Select a permission level from the drop-down menu.
  8. Check the box to send an email and/or short personal message (optional).
  9. Click Share.

Remove Users from a Group

  1. Log into your SharePoint site with your UARK username and password.
  2. Click the gear icon. Select Site Settings.
  3. Click People and Groups
  4. Select the group name.
  5. Check the box next to the user.
  6. Click Actions, and select Remove Users from Group. Click OK.Delete a Group
  7. Log into your SharePoint site with your UARK username and password.
  8. Click the gear icon. Select Site Settings.
  9. Click People and Groups.
  10. Click the group name.
  11. Click Settings, and select Group Settings.
  12. Click Delete. Click OK.

View Group Permissions

  1. Log into your SharePoint site with your UARK username and password.
  2. Click the gear icon. Select Site Settings.
  3. Click People and Groups.
  4. Click the group name.
  5. Click Settings and select View Group Permissions.
  6. Click OK.

Give a Group Access to a Site

  1. Click the gear icon. Select Site Settings.
  2. Click Site Permissions, then Grant Permissions.
  3. Enter the name of the group to grant access.
  4. Click Show Options
  5. Select a permission level from the drop-down menu.
  6. Check the box to choose to send an email and/or short personal message (optional).
  7. Click Share.

Updated 09/25/2017


Was this helpful?

Yes    No