Leaving the University
IT Services recommends that users who are leaving the university back up online files and forward UARK email to an external email account.
When you leave the university, your university accounts will be deleted. When your account is deleted, you will no longer be able to access UAConnect, Blackboard Learn, campus Wi-Fi, the computer labs, Office 365 or other university services. In addition, all email, personal websites and saved files will be purged.
After leaving the university, a student account is active for two years after the end of the last term for which they were enrolled. For instance, if you leave in the fall semester, you can access your account until the end of the fall semester two years later. At that time, you can no longer access your account, and two months later your account will be purged.
Additionally, if a student has a remaining balance owed to the university, their UARK account will remain active until the balance is paid so that the student can access UAConnect to make payments. This does not apply to graduates who continue to enroll each semester.
Faculty and Staff
When a faculty or staff member's employment ends, the account is purged on the date provided by the supervisor. If a supervisor does not provide IT Services with a purge date, former faculty and staff receive warning emails 30 and 45 days after the end date of their employment. The account is then blocked after 50 days and deleted on day 77.
When leaving the university, all copies of university licensed software, such as Microsoft Office or statistical software, must be uninstalled from personal computers and other devices.
Retirees and emeriti can contact HR to determine eligibility for maintaining a UARK account.
Back Up Your Files
After your UARK account is closed, you will no longer have access to your University of Arkansas OneDrive, MyDocs or Gizmo files. IT Services recommends backing up those files by saving them to your computer or your personal file storage service like Dropbox or a personal OneDrive account.
IT Services recommends backing up MyDocs files in the Tech Spot labs. MyDocs files are located in your My Documents folder in the Tech Spot labs. You can also map a drive and save files from the mapped drive to your computer.
Back Up Your Email
Set up email forwarding to an external account well in advance of your account being deleted, and instruct your contacts to email your non-UARK address. When your UARK account is deleted, the email forward will no longer work.
To back up any messages that were saved to folders, first move those messages to your inbox. Use an email application such as Google Mail Fetcher to move your UARK messages to another account. See Gmail Mail Fetcher for instructions.